Day 1

November 2, 2008

Apparently Day 1, for me, does not start on Nov 1. That’s okay. I’ll just tack on Dec 1, to make up for it.

For the month of November, I’m trying to spend as little as possible on food. Without resorting to eating supercheap but superbad junk food. Still, I’m no authority on nutrition. Even without the junk food, I’m probably going to be eating badly anyway. We’ll see.

PURCHASES

– 5 lb (2.2 kg) bag of rice, $ 5.99. There was another going for $4.99, but it wasn’t Musenmai (the kind that you don’t have to wash). This is both laziness and water-saving on my part.

– Box of cereal, $1.88, from Ralph’s. Water, cereal, shampoo, tampons, toilet paper, etc. are almost always cheaper at the nonasian businesses.

– Bag of bok choy, Hong Kong Supermarket, $1.25.

– Soy milk, $2.99. I’d switch to the cheaper cow’s milk option if I could, but that would put me in for indigestion adventures that I’d rather not deal with right now.

– Packet of spaghetti, $1

– Jar of spaghetti sauce, $1.50

Aaaand I’m already at $14.61. The rice, spaghetti, bok choy, etc. should last me a while.

BREAKFAST, 11 am

Milk and cereal. I’m hoping that the brunchlike time will keep me going until dinnertime.

DINNER

Spaghetti and sauce.

I should take pictures, but I’m not sure where my camera is. It should show up soonish.

Leave a Reply

